Bad Fannibals

The Horrors Of The Hannibal Fandom

Introduction:


Disclaimer:

Everything provided in this story is truth to the best of my knowledge. Some names have been changed to protect those I believe to be innocent parties (or at the request of those who provided the information). The chat transcripts, tweets, and other photographs are used under the fair use act and are available publicly anyway so I’m merely pointing people in that direction. I have very little real information on the woman who ran Tattle-Crime.com other than my own experiences and conversations with her which I am recalling as 100% factual to the best of my ability. However with any story like this one must realize that it’s best to take it with a grain of salt. As much information as I have, I also have very little information. If you know who ran the site Tattle-Crime.com or currently are connected to her in any way I advise you to call your local authorities. She is in severe need of mental help. You can view videos, proof, pictures, and more in much greater detail at my website: http://www.TattleCrime.Org.


Fandom life is positively brutal. That’s not something I’d ever thought that I’d say until recently. Growing up, well at least around the age of fourteen, I’ve been in fandoms on the internet. In most cases it’s a group of people who love a TV show and get together to discuss it or share other things. Fan fiction, art work, cosplay, role-play, and various other things that fans of a TV show (or movie/book) would share. Yet, it seems in the past few years that has changed and drastically. Though I can’t positively claim the latest and very last fandom I was in is the worst of them all, I can say it’s the worst I’ve ever been in. Keep in mind I’ve been in some incredibly insane fandoms too. The first internet community I ever got into was Star Wars. I was into that at a young age. From there it was Star Trek, then X-Files. When I was in the X-Files community I did meet a bunch of strange people. There was one girl who I role-played with for years who was quite certifiably insane. Other than her incredibly cliche and Mary Sue characters that she dreamed up, she couldn’t have possibly been normal. She’s not even normal now, just a lot better. I know because I’m still somewhat friends with her. Even with her weird delusions like an angel was coming to her in her dreams, telling her to write a book that would cause Charlie Sheen to fall in love with her, she still wasn’t as crazy as anyone I met in the Hannibal fandom. I admit her rantings were a pretty high level of nuts, but she wasn’t dangerous. The people who call themselves “Fannibals” are dangerous.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Hannibal (the original creation and trilogy of books by Thomas Harris) was adapted into a TV show in 2013 by a man named Bryan Fuller. The first season of which was something I decided to check out. I remember thinking that it was going to be horrible. Mostly because every reboot and remake of everything is horrible these days. I was utterly uninterested in the show other than seeing what kind of train wreck it had become from the original source material. I didn’t expect much but when it did premiere that year I was instantly hooked. I loved it. One of the best things I had ever seen. It seemed like the hour that the TV show was on passed by far too quickly and I was instantly hungry for more the moment after. It had been a long time since I had even wanted to watch a show that badly. The last show I had watched (and fandom I had previously been in) had ended about a year prior (and badly at that). I had convinced myself that after that show (House MD) I wasn’t going to subject myself to any more TV shows or drama on the internet. I was wrong about that. There was something about the atmosphere of Hannibal in the first season that was addictive. An emotional roller coaster. You didn’t want to watch because it was painful but you couldn’t look away. A perfect combination of angst, drama, and characters that you completely love to hate.

At the time, I was already a user on a website called Tumblr. If you are unfamiliar with that website the best way to summarize it is that it’s a place where intelligence goes to die. Well, that’s probably not the best way but one of the best ways. On there people sign up and get a free blog. Most people don’t really actually blog. The main contents of that site are stolen art, pictures, videos, music, and gifs that people pass around. This is done very easily via the ‘reblog’ system. See, you follow people on Tumblr if you like their content. They can follow you back too if they like your content. Usually people who like the same things follow other people who like the same things. A lot of blogs “specialize” so that they only contain one or two things, or they have a running theme. My blog, when Hannibal started, was an anti-feminist blog which should’t be too surprising considering what the contents of my current website, twitter, and youtube are. In any case, I more or less dropped everything to get on tumblr and create a Hannibal blog. Something I had never attempted to do before. Blog about a current and at the time, popular TV show. It turned out to be a really big mistake but I wouldn’t figure that out until about eight or nine months later. The URL that I choose was Hannibals-Animal and it’s still there today. It just redirects to another site. More on that later. When I started the blog it quickly grew in popularity but the hell if I knew why. I wasn’t even what I consider a good blog even if a bunch of other people did.

Things started off with a big bang. I had decided early on that I would only be posting, reblogging, and commenting on Hannibal stuff. This made my blog very sought after because a lot of people had to “convert” their main blogs (or chose to) and didn’t want to only post one thing. Of course there were side blogs created but it seemed there weren’t a ton of people who had instantly hopped into the “100% Hannibal” mentality. Not right away. Since I had, it got me attention. Bryan Fuller mainly promoted his show on that website which was also a huge mistake and if he’s learned that by now he certainly hasn’t said anything about it. Things were fairly smooth until episode four when I apparently made a huge social media faux pa. By which I mean I asked a question about a popular character that implied that said character was a moron. She actually was a moron, it didn’t need to be implied, yet though I phrased it as politely as possible I was instantly attacked.

In the show there are a couple main characters I’m going to mention quite a bit here. Hannibal Lecter who is (or was) portrayed by an actor named Mads Mikkelsen. There was Will Graham who was portrayed by Hugh Dancy. Both of them are the most main of the show and the most talked about. My blog content was about 90% Mads stuff or Hannibal Lecter stuff with Will following and then a few of the other characters I liked. The problem is that I didn’t like characters that it was “okay” to like by fandom standards. When something like that happens and you are on that website you are going to have a bad time. Since previously I had been on a blog that had nothing to do with fandoms, I actually had no clue how bad it was to not like a character in a fictional show because that wasn’t what I had been dealing with every day. I had been dealing with really stupid feminists and what they call social justice warriors. I wasn’t talking about TV or really even watching it before Hannibal became a thing. The question I asked was utterly benign and should have in no way gotten the response it got. Though I will never be able to exactly tell you verbatim what the question was, I know it was something along the lines of asking about a main and greatly loved character, Abigail Hobbs. She was portrayed by Kacey Rohl and has an irrational legion of fan girls. It’s not surprising because Abigail was the perpetual damsel in distress, weak, sniveling teenage girl who had won the affection of Hannibal Lecter, sort of. In any case, I had asked why she was stupid enough to protect Hannibal when it was clear he was evil and she definitely knew he was evil. The problem is, most of the fans in that fandom are exactly what Abigail Hobbs was. Weak, sniveling, cowardly teenage girls who couldn’t act their way out of a paper bag (just like the actual actress). This brought her defense squad raining down upon me almost instantly.

In the show, Abigail had chosen to protect Hannibal even after she found out he was a criminal. No idea why. After that point she had willingly gone to his house alone and on purpose drank tea that would make her hallucinate. Me, being the logical person I am, questioned why she would be that stupid. I think anyone reading this who knows that character in that show (or can even understand the basic situation) would also question why someone would be that dumb as well. On Tumblr the response was anything from insulting my personality to my psychical appearance and also telling me to die. One of the more obnoxious responses I got from a feminist blog was that she would tell me why Abigail did all these things but she didn’t care for my internalized misogyny. She actually didn’t even type that. She managed to find a gif of a feminist looking shark with pretty flowers that was “saying” it. As I mentioned, Tumblr is about stealing and reposting content, not creating your own. The majority of responses were irrational and stupid so of course I never got a legitimate answer as to why Abigail was the dumbest bitch on the planet. Which not only pissed me off more, but made me determined to keep on pointing out the flaws of this obvious plot device until the end of time. Lucky for me that was only until the rest of the season, kind of.

For some reason I kept growing in follower count. By mid season I had about 1800 followers to my blog. It was around that time that there was a planned attack on me. There were some blogs called the “Sassy Blogs” I’m not even sure they still exist. They did back then and for some reason people liked them. The point of the blogs, as is my understanding, was to be “sassy” versions of the show characters. So there would be, for instance, “Sassy Will Graham” and people would send them questions and they’d give a smart ass answer (I don’t know something like that). People enjoyed it I guess, even if it made no sense (like the flower crowns which were utterly ridiculous). These blogs were run by a group of people who were also all friends. They would have meetings on Skype to plan things, I suppose, I was never really clear on that. In any case, one night they all got together and decided to spam hate my blog. At least they were signed in at the time. I was able to block all of them. The only blog that didn’t attack me was the Will blog. The person who ran it (not sure if it’s male or female pronouns) told me that the rest of the blogs planned the attack on Skype. When I asked why they weren’t invited they told me they had always liked my blog so the rest of the people had met without telling them so they could plan the attack.

It didn’t exactly stop there. Other than things like that, people created hate blogs for me. Some were obvious hate blogs, some less obvious. For instance one guy or girl (still not sure which it is) created an “Anti-Bullying” blog. Except the only thing he or she did was feature posts of mine taken completely out of context as “examples” of how not to behave. Passive aggressive hate blogging I guess. I know who this person is because they also used to be my friend until it became trendy to hate me. I never liked them, I only use the term “friend” because of the fact that he or she was always hanging around to defend me and used to do that stuff in my “honor” until he or she joined up with Laura at the end of season one to trash my blog. This person hitched themselves to the most popular horse in the fandom and made sure that they caught all their followers. When I went down they immediately jumped from my ship to the other one. I saw a lot of blogs do this to me. Use me to get promotion then shun me the moment they got popular. Not unusual, can’t really blame anyone for that but in my mind it’s a shitty move. The biggest offended in all of it was the aforementioned Laura who used me very well then turned around and bit me in the ass with it. By the time season one ended, she had declared herself queen of the fandom and decided to get rid of as much competition as she possibly could.

After being baited into deleting my blog to avoid harassment from these people, I watched someone move in and take my user name then pretend to be me for a few days until they were called out on it. When that happened, they pretended not to speak English and deleted the content but hoarded the URL. It took months for me to get the URL back and the majority of the fandom will claim that this never happened, but had it not I wouldn’t have ever fought to get the URL back because I honestly wouldn’t care. I don’t use the blog for anything other than a redirect (as I already said). There’s nothing on there otherwise. I tried to move into another fandom because I was getting more and more into classic rock, specifically David Bowie. There is a large group of people on that site who like Bowie so it wasn’t too hard. The problem was that Laura followed me to 6 different blogs and kept posting my URL as a “warning” to other people. By which I mean she wanted people to attack me but phrased it as if she were trying to “warn” people to stay away from me. She claims that she wasn’t trying to advocate harassment, but that’s one of the many tactics she uses to get people harassed. It wasn’t until I met the woman who ran the website Tattle-Crime.com (originally hosted through Tumblr) that everything went to shit. Don’t get me wrong, I was getting death threats and being stalked far before that point but that’s when things took a turn for the worst.

 

Tattle On Tattle-Crime:

